Archive for August 25, 2010


Initially I had the honor of Powerliftingwatch.com featuring my deadlift PR of 555 x 3 on their news feed. A surprise I did not expect when I submitted it, considering the many news articles about, what I consider a bunch of great lifters in general,it would be featured next to. The article is here for that feature:

PRpalooza day 1 deadlift PR 555 x 3

I have now had the additional honor of having this incredible, for me, deadlift PR of 37 pounds featured on 70sBig.com, which can be found here in the reader’s appreciation section:

PRpalooza day 1, deadlift PR 555 x 3, featured on 70sBig in reader\’s appreciation article

It is humbling to be featured in both. I would like to thank those that thought the video worthy.

Alongside this achievement in my march back to competition and powerlifting self actualization, this stands beside my squat PR of 445 x 3, which was an easy 35 pound PR for me. Squatting is my most difficult lift and I am overly pleased with this PR considering the trouble squatting gives me. My squat generally stalls, then surges. The goal is to replace the stalling with more surging. I utilized my 5-4-3 template, which is a nine week cycle involving three, three week long, intensity waves. If you would like to check it out it can be found on the training templates page.  You will need a gmail or google account to access it.  It is editable so you can put in your current maxes and give it a try:

5-4-3 training template

The video of the squat PR can be found on my YouTube page here:

Bookmark and Share

After being up an hour and becoming fussy, and following bottle and diaper time it was time to call in the big guns; the mobile. Ann picked this magical piece of wonderment up from a friend two weeks ago. It makes letting him cry it out to fall asleep much less cry and a much shorter duration.

Bookmark and Share

So little man got up a bit early and I ended up combing YouTube for entertainment while he played on his play quilt. The two highlights of this were Elijah making turning onto his side on his own and hanging out and this gem from YouTube.

Bookmark and Share